Arizona drivers have a unique advantage in that driver’s licenses expire on their 65th birthday. However, you must make sure you get a new photo taken every 12 years. After the age of 65, you’ll need to renew your driver’s license every 5 years.
After years of not having to worry about an expiration date for your license, you may find that your license is expired when you get into a car crash. It’s an easy mistake to make, but you may get a ticket or need to pay fines.
Fortunately, if you were in an accident caused by a negligent driver, even if your license is expired, the at-fault driver is financially responsible.
Is It Possible to Recover Compensation with an Expired License in a Car Accident?
While you should make sure your license is up-to-date, car accidents in Arizona are based on driver negligence. Thus, a car accident has nothing to do with not having a current license.
If you were not at fault for the crash, then the other driver’s insurance will need to cover your damages. They will be responsible for the financial damages, including property damage, medical bills, and other losses related to the crash.
Will My Car Insurance Still Be Valid?
Your car insurance will depend on the terms of your policy. It’s not always grounds for termination of an insurance policy when a driver has an expired license. Often, insurance companies will continue applying the coverage if the time the license has been expired is short and you’re currently paying your premium.
In short, it’s always best to make sure your license is current and your insurance policy is active. This will help you to stay protected on the road.
If you get in an accident due to someone else’s carelessness and your license has expired, you may face some penalties unrelated to your car accident case. The police officer who arrives on the scene may issue you a traffic ticket for this infraction. You may also need to pay fines up to $750. Sometimes, probation or jail time is imposed, but more often than not, you will likely get a ticket and be told to update your license. It’s something you can do online in just a few minutes.
What to Do If You Have an Expired License in Tucson
While the at-fault driver will be responsible for paying damages, you may want to ensure that your lack of renewing your license doesn’t cause other problems. It’s always best to consult injury attorneys serving Tucson to help protect your legal rights.
Additionally, if you’ve endured serious injuries, having an attorney serving as your legal representation allows you to help with your health and recovery. This way, you’ll have the protection you need and someone with deep knowledge of the laws to lead the way.
- Can You Doordash If You Have A Speeding Ticket? (Everything To Know!)
- Does Grubhub Require Proof Of Insurance? (What To Know!)
- Does Grubhub Require Insurance? (type Of Insurance Needed, Making A Claim + More)
- Does Doordash Require Insurance? (all You Need To Know)
- Why do Police Touch Your Car?
- How To Reactivate Grubhub Driver Account (all You Need To Know)
- Does Target Allow Overnight Parking? (full Guide)
- How Old Do You Have To Be To Do Grubhub? (What To Know!)
- Amazon Flex Driver’s License Verification (how Long It Takes + Other Faqs)
- Instacart Dui Policy (all You Need To Know)